Days after WhatsApp made the Disappearing Messages official, the feature has now been rolled out in India. The users can now update their WhatsApp app and use the feature across all platforms including Android, iOS, desktop, KaiOS, and web. WhatsApp had earlier rolled out WhatsApp Pay, Always Mute and enhanced storage tool.

Announcing the feature, WhatsApp has said in its blog, “WhatsApp messages often live on our phones forever. While it’s great to hold onto memories from friends and family, most of what we send doesn’t need to be everlasting. Our goal is to make conversations on WhatsApp feel as close to in-person as possible, which means they shouldn’t have to stick around forever. That’s why we’re excited to introduce the option to use disappearing messages on WhatsApp.”

The disappearing message is an opt-in feature, which when turned on will delete the message sent after seven days. The feature can be turned on for individual as well as group chats. If you want to save a message before it disappears, you can either take a screenshot or copy-paste it.

Talking about the seven days time period, WhatsApp noted in the blog, “We’re starting with 7 days because we think it offers peace of mind that conversations aren’t permanent while remaining practical so you don’t forget what you were chatting about. The shopping list or store address you received a few days ago will be there while you need it, and then disappear after you don’t.”

Here is how you can turn on the Disappearing Message feature on your WhatsApp

— First, update your WhatsApp on either Google Play Store or Apple App Store.

— After updating the app, open the WhatsApp Chat Window

— Tap on the contact name, you want to turn the disappearing message feature on.

— Select Disappearing Message on.

You will have to follow the same process to turn the feature on Android, iOS, and WhatsApp Web.

When you turn on the disappearing message feature, it will notify the contact as well that the feature has been turned on for his chat. The message will appear on both the chat windows. However, if you forward a disappearing message, it would not get deleted after seven days. If the disappearing message is a picture or a video, it will get saved to your gallery automatically. Only if you have turned the auto-download feature on.

WhatsApp says that “media you receive in WhatsApp will be automatically downloaded to your photos. If disappearing messages are turned on, media sent in the chat will disappear but will be saved on the phone if auto-download is on. You can turn auto-download off in WhatsApp Settings > Data and Storage Usage.”

[embedded content]

 

Original Source